Day Enugu branch hosted AROSON NEC parley


Enugu, the coal city town, played host to the National and branch executives of Aro Okeigbo Social Club of Nigeria (AROSON) who converged on the city for the Second Session of its 2018 National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting.

As guests arrived the expansive Universal Hotel, located at the Independence layout, on Friday, the 10th of August, 2018, other guests sensed that something special was in the offing.

The host branch treated their guests to a sumptuous dinner served by the pool side of the hotel, after which the National Officers Committee (NOC) meeting took place at the Suite of the club’s President, Mazi Okorafor Nwagugo Okorafor (Naira). The meeting lasted into the early hours of the next day.

On Saturday, the 11 th of August, 2018, members were treated to breakfast at the residence of Mazi Ijoma O. Ijoma (Ochiwar), after which they proceeded to the house of another member, Mazi Ogbonnaya Paul Onwukwe.

After the breakfast and visits, members became the cynosure of all eyes as the filed into the hall of the hotel, where the meeting took place dressed in their Aro regalia.

At the meeting proper, deliberations on the success of its Club House event was extensively discussed while Mazi Fidelis Nwosu, immediate past President of Nzuko Aro, Abuja branch, was given automatic membership and inducted into the club.  He was then handed over to the Chairman of Lagos branch, Mazi Okoronkwo. Asonta. Mazi Nwosu is charged with the responsibility of reviving the Abuja branch of the Club. Dr. Azubike Okoro, Chairman, Ikeji Aro 2018 Planning Committee was also present at the NEC.

Done with the activities of the day, members retired to their rooms and re-converged at the hall for party/awards night. The Award night, the first of its kind in the history of the Club, witnessed the recognition of some illustrious sons of Aro who have contributed to the next day.

Some of the recipients were Elder IK Onu, immediate past President of the Club, bagged the Ace of Initiative Award; Mazi Ijoma Obasi Ijoma, Leadership Impact Award, Mazi Okoroafor N. Okoroafor, Leadership Impact Award, Arc. Godwin Nwachukwu, Star Award, Chief Pius Okoroafor, Long Service Award and Mazi Ogbonnaya Paul Onwukwe, Long Service Award.

The occasion was an epoch making one that left a lasting memory in the minds of all that participated. All the participants at the NEC received a certificate of attendance, which is also the first of its kind, departed Enugu to their respective destinations on Sunday, 12th of August, 2018.


About author

No comments