Nzuko Inyom Aro Lagos elects Nwaka president


Members of Nzuko Inyom Aro Lagos branch gathered at the Railway Recreational Club, Ebutte Metta, Lagos, on Sunday, the 26th of May, 2019 to elect new officials who will be saddled with the responsibility of piloting its affairs for the next three years.

As the Madam Gift Onwuchekwa’s (Onwa) administration gradual came to an end, the women of the wing were requested to indicate interest in positions they would like to occupy in the subsequent exco. While many heeded the request, a few members of the outgoing exco indicated interest in vying for new positions, while others did not.

After the dissolution of the executive, call for nomination of officers were made by the returning officers comprising the duo of Madam Gift Kanu and Aro News Woman Editor, Mrs. Eucharia Oti, who is also the Assistant Secretary General of Nzuko Arochukwu Women’s wing.

Indeed, Nzuko Aro constitution stipulates that National Officers and Branch Patrons or Patronesses (as in the case of the women) would conduct elections at the branch level.

At the end of the election, the following officers were elected: Mrs. Chinenye Nwaka, President; Mrs. Ngozi Chijioke, 1st Vice President; Mrs. Chinwe Igbokwe, 2nd Vice President; Mrs. Chidinma Keokwu, Secretary; Mrs. Mercy Okoroafor, Assistant Secretary; Mrs. Nnenna Nwankwo, Treasurer; Mrs. Ezinne Ajibolu, Financial Secretary; Mrs. Esther Uvere, Assistant Financial Secretary.

Others include, Mrs. Elizabeth Ijeomah, Welfare Officer 1; Mrs. Onyinyechi Ukwu Okoronkwo, Welfare Officer 2; Mrs. Patricia Okoroafor, Welfare Officer 3; Mrs. Mary Cole, Public Relations Officer; Mrs. Charity Okoro, Assistant Public Relations Officer.

The duo of Mrs. Mary Ugwudike and Joyce Nwakanma were elected Provosts 1 and 2 respectively.

After the successful election, the Oath of Allegiance was administered on the officers by the returning officers.

About author

No comments