OUK emerges Senate Chief Whip


The lawmaker representing Abia North Senatorial Zone in the National Assembly and former governor of Abia State, Sen. Orji Uzor Kalu has emerged the Senate Chief Whip of the 9th National Assembly.

In a letter addressed to the Senate President, Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan which was read during plenary on Tuesday, the 2nd of July, 2019, the APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, said the choice of the principal officers was as a result of extensive consultation with the leadership of the ruling All Progressives Congress.

“I wish to bring to your notice, list of principal officers of the 9th Senate which were agreed by consensus,” he said. “After extensive consultation by the leadership of the party, I wish to bring to your notice list of the rest of principal officers.”

They are: Senate leader, Senator Abdullahi Yahaya; Deputy Senate leader, Senator Boroffice Robert Ajayi; Chief Whip, Senator Orji Uzor Kalu; Deputy Chief Whip, Senator Abdullahi Sabi In the same vein, the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), in a letter by its National Chairman, Prince Uche Secondus, picked Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe representing Abia South Senatorial Zone as Minority Leader of the Senate. Others are, Deputy Senate Minority leader, Senator Emmanuel Bwacha; Senate Minority Whip, Senator Philip Aduda and Deputy Senate Minority Whip, Senator Sahabi Yau.

About author

No comments

Okechukwu Udeh

Okechukwu Udeh

Medical practitioner and politician clocked 59 on the 1st of July. A native of Ndiowu Town, Orumba North LGA of Anambra State, His Excellency is ...