National Association of Arochukwu Students elects new officers


By Juliet Okorafor

The National Association of Arochukwu Students (NAAS) has elected new officers to pilot its affairs in its 7th Republic. After a keenly contested election, the following people were elected:

Comrade Okereke Victor, President, Comrade Franck Esther Vice                     President, Comrade Ijoma Joseph, Secretary. General, Comrade Okoroafor Amarachi, Assistant. Secretary  General,.Comrade Ifeanyichukwu Israel,        Financial Secretary. Others are Comrade Okoroafor A. Juliet, Treasurer, Comrade Okoro Ojukwu, Welfare I, Comrade Mbadiwe Victoria, Welfare II, Comrade Okereke Chukwuemeka, P.R.O and Comrade Okereke Chimdiuku,  Director of Socials. Also elected are Comrade Okafor Goodluck, Provost, Comrade Ikenga Justice U, Director of Transport, Comrade Uchechukwu Moses,  Director of Sports and Hon. Okoroji Chidinma Ruth, Media Assistant..

The association held its maiden meeting on the 15th of August 2020 at the Arochukwu Civic Centre complex.

Highlights of the meeting include the handing over to the new exco by the outgone exco of Praise Genesis. It deliberated on Covid 19 pallatives donated to the students by the lawmaker representing Arochukwu /Ohafia in the House of Representatives, Hon. Uko Nkole, its role in the Covid 19 awareness rally organized by Nzuko Aro and NAAS participation at the 5th All Aro National Conference which took place in Abakaliki in March, 2020.

The meeting also deliberated on the planned yearly activities of the aasociation which is expected to hold in December 2020. Some of the activities lined up include, football competition amongst the chapters, seminars, quiz, Face of NAAS, Mr./Miss, NAAS Award presentation to some individuals etc.

The annual NAAS Rally which will hold on the 27th of December 2020. It also plans to undertake a Community Eye Care project which will cover all the wards in Arochukwu clan but called for support of well meaning individuals to achieve this feat.

The representative of the law maker representing Arochukwu State Constituency in the Abia State House of Assembly, Hon. Mike Ukoha, explained to the gathering the criteria to qualify for the award of a Bursary.   

About author

No comments